Adjusting Group Privacy and Access Settings

Admins can adjust a Group's privacy settings at any time by clicking on Privacy & Access in Group Settings.

Hylo has two dimensions as it relates to privacy - Group Visibility and Group Accessibility.

Group Visibility

Who do you want to see your group?

  • Protected - Only members of the group or parent groups can see this group.

  • Hidden - Only members of this group or direct child groups can see the group.

  • Public - Anyone can find and see that this group exists and the Group's About page. If a group is tagged as public, it will show up on the public map. Note: While the user can see this group, their ability to join depends on the access settings. (see accessibility)

Group Accessibility

Who can join your groups?

  • Closed: This group is invitation only and is only visible to members of the Parent Group.

  • Restricted: People can request to join this group and must be approved. Note: They can see the group image and description. (See Join Questions)

  • Open: Anyone who can see this group can automatically join it.

Join Questions

If you have Restricted Accessibility, you can add Join Questions, which users will be required to answer when they find our Group organically and request access to the Group. Keep in mind, if you want to receive answers to Join Questions, you will need send potential members the Join Link to your group, rather than sending them an email invite. See invite.

Prerequisite Groups

Moderators can select a Prerequisite Group, which is a Parent Group that a user will be required to join prior to joining your Group. Before setting a Prerequisite Group, the Parent Group must first be linked. See Related Groups.

Group Access Questions

Groups can request to join your Group to form larger networks and moderators can approve or deny this request. Moderators can set Group Access Questions, which other Groups will be required to answer when they make this request to link Groups.

Last updated